top of page

Chile appears to be on the fence about its inclusion in the CPTPP

October 24, 2022 - Chile's congress voted to approve the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) trade deal earlier this month after four years of legislative debate.

Stalling the deal, however, President Gabriel Boric signaled it will be delayed because the president sent a series of side letters to the other ten member countries that could extend the process.

The trade deal had become a source of political debate, and protesters against the CPTPP gathered outside the Senate building on Tuesday to oppose the deal.

The CPTPP is comprised of Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. The United States formally withdrew in 2017 under President Donald Trump.


bottom of page